Mr Allan J. Myers AC QC

Chancellor of The University of Melbourne

Mr Allan Myers is the 22nd Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, appointed on 1 January 2017.

Mr Myers is one of Her Majesty’s Counsel in all Australian States and Territories and is a barrister in England, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. His practice has been predominantly in commercial law. He is also a leading philanthropist and businessman.

Mr Myers has provided support to many professional and charitable entities. His is currently Chair of the National Gallery of Australia Council, Chair of the Museums and Art Galleries Board of the Northern Territory, a Governor of the Ian Potter Foundation, member of the Council of Newman College, and member of the Graduate Studies Advisory Board of the Law Faculty at the University of Melbourne and of the Law Faculty at Oxford University. He is a director of publicly listed companies in Europe and a director of many private and unlisted companies in Australia and elsewhere.

He was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 and, in 2007, became an Officer in the Order of Australia. In 2016, Mr Myers was appointed Companion of the Order of Australia for eminent service to the community through philanthropic leadership in support of major visual arts, higher education, medical research and not-for-profit organisations, to the law, and to professional learning programs. He holds an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Melbourne and an Honorary Doctor of the University from the Australian Catholic University.

Mr Myers is a graduate of the University of Melbourne and Oxford University. He has been closely involved with the University of Melbourne for many years, having taught in the Faculty of Law, and having supported scholarships and facilities. He is chair of the University’s Humanities Foundation Board.

From 2013 to 2016 Mr Myers served as inaugural chair of the Campaign Board for Believe – The Campaign for the University of Melbourne. In 2015 he became the first recipient of the Fellow of the University of Melbourne Award in recognition of his community leadership and significant contributions to this institution.


University Profile

The University of Melbourne is the leading centre of higher education and research in Australia. Founded in 1853, it is situated in the heart of the world’s most liveable city and within the largest biomedical precinct in the southern hemisphere.

Due to its strong research performance, excellence in learning and teaching, and intellectual and social capital, the University is consistently ranged with the world’s leading universities and is currently ranked number one in Australia and number 32 in the world (Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2018).

Innovative curriculum

The University’s Melbourne Model provides an undergraduate experience different from those of most other Australian universities. With fewer graduates staying in the same industry throughout their working lives, the Melbourne Model provides a distinctive curriculum to give students a wider understanding of the world beyond their degree. With a breadth and depth of knowledge, Melbourne students are prepared to build the skills to enable them to adapt and change as the professional landscape changes.

Groundbreaking research

University of Melbourne researchers are at the forefront of international scholarship in fields as diverse as human rights law, telecommunications, climate change and medical research. Melbourne scholars of particular international renown include Nobel Laureate Professor Peter Doherty and alumna and Nobel Laureate Professor Elizabeth Blackburn.

The University has long been engaged in world-changing projects including the cochlear implant (or Bionic Ear) and is, today, involved in multi-disciplinary and collaborative efforts to develop the first Bionic Eye. The University’s strong links with industry are epitomised by its co-location within Melbourne’s vibrant biodmedical and innovation precincts, home to some of the world’s most dynamic and forward-thinking local and international organisations including Bio21, CSL, CSIRO, Defence Science Institute, Peter Doherty Institute, Engineers Australia, Florey Institute, IBM, Locheed Martin, Save the Children, Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre – to name but a few.

Inspiring arts and culture

The University of Melbourne boasts an impressive host of museums and galleries, exploring everything from contemporary art, classics and archaeology, medical and dental history, to music and the sciences.

To find out more, visit the University of Melbourne website 



University of Melbourne Council

Council is the governing body of the University of Melbourne and has the entire direction and superintendence of the University. Council is appointed pursuant to the University of Melbourne Act 2009 (VIC).


In accordance with the University of Melbourne Act, the primary responsibilities of the Council include:

  1. appointing and monitoring the performance of the Vice-Chancellor and Principal as chief executive officer of the University;

  2. approving the mission and strategic direction of the University and its annual budget and business plan;

  3. overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance;

  4. establishing policy and procedural principles for the operation of the University consistent with legal requirements and community expectations;

  5. approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability of the University, including those required to maintain a general overview of any entity controlled by the University in accordance with section SOAA of the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth);

  6. overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University, including commercial undertakings;

  7. overseeing and monitoring the academic activities of the University; and

  8. approving any significant commercial activities of the University.

For further information, refer to:

Membership of the University of Melbourne’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr Allan J. Myers AC QC - Chancellor
Professor Duncan Maskell - Vice-Chancellor
Professor Nilss Olekalns - President of Academic Board

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Mr Mark Leibler AC

Appointed Members – Government

Ms Jane Hansen - Deputy Chancellor
Ms Wendy Stops
Dr Helen Szoke AO

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Ross McPherson
The Hon. Justice John Middleton
Mr Martyn Myer AO - Deputy Chancellor
Professor Joseph Y. Sung SBS JP

Elected Members

Professor Marilys Guillemin - Staff elected member of Council
Mr Tyson Holloway-Clarke - Student elected member of Council


Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Finance Committee

Chair – Mr Allan Myers AC QC, Chancellor

Investment Management Committee

Chair – Mr Martyn Myer AO

Audit Committee

Chair – Vacant

University Risk Committee

Chair – Ms Wendy Stops

Governance and Nominations Committee

Chair – Mr Allan Myers AC QC, Chancellor

Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

Chair – Mr Allan Myers AC QC, Chancellor

University of Melbourne Foundation and Trusts Committee

Chair – The Hon. Justice John Middleton

Gift Acceptance and Review Sub-Committee

Chair – The Hon. Justice John Middleton

Infrastructure Committee

Chair – Mr Robert Johanson, Deputy Chancellor