Dr Andrew Crane

Chancellor of Curtin University

Dr Andrew Crane has over thirty years experience in agriculture, food processing and international trade. He has held executive positions in Marketing, Trading, Strategy and Business Development and as CEO of the CBH Group.

He is currently non-executive Director on the Boards of Rice Growers Ltd (SunRice), RAC Holdings Ltd and Macquarie Infrastructure Advisory Boards of Lawson Grains Pty Ltd and Viridis Ag Pty Ltd. He was former non-executive Director of Interflour Pte Ltd and former Chairman of the Business Council of Co Operatives and Mutuals.

Dr Crane holds a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Studies, a PhD in Remote Sensing of Agriculture and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Directors.


University Profile

Curtin University is Western Australia’s largest and most culturally diverse university, welcoming more than 53,000 students from all over the world. As an internationally focused institution, Curtin’s mission is to change minds, lives and the world through leadership, innovation and excellence in teaching and research.

Curtin University is ranked among the world’s best. In the Academic Ranking of World Universities 2015, Curtin asserted its position amongst the top two per cent of universities worldwide, thanks to its growing reputation as a research-intensive university. In the Times Higher Education 2015 top 100 universities under 50 years of age, Curtin ranked at 81 worldwide.

In addition to its main campus in Perth, Western Australia, Curtin has campuses in Sydney, Malaysia and Singapore, and education centres in regional Western Australia. Curtin University is globally recognised for its strong international connections, and in 2016 ranked as the second most international university in Australia in the Times Higher Education Top 100 Most International Universities. Curtin always looks for new and innovative ways to strengthen its global presence. It currently enjoys partnerships with more than 90 institutions worldwide and welcomes the third-largest international student population of any Australian university.

Every faculty at Curtin is involved in high-impact, applied research that can make a real difference to industry and the community. Curtin’s research strengths are concentrated around four broad themes: minerals and energy, ICT and emerging technologies, sustainable development and health. Curtin is involved in more than 70 high-impact research centres and collaborations, including the Centre for Crop and Disease Management, Cisco Internet of Everything Innovation Centre and Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy.

Curtin University offers more than 100 courses across science, engineering, health sciences, business, humanities and Indigenous studies. Curtin’s courses emphasise industry connections and teach practical skills for the workplace. In the QS World University Rankings by Subject 2015, Curtin’s architecture and built environment, art and design, earth and marine sciences and education fields were ranked in the top 100 in the world. Curtin’s flexible study options, leading research facilities and distinguished staff mean that students can expect to graduate career-ready with knowledge and skills highly sought-after by employers.

Curtin’s innovative approach to teaching, research and campus life has asserted its position on the international stage. Students can interact with virtual technologies in the Hub for Immersive Visualisation and eResearch, dissect virtual bodies on the Anatomage tables and learn through virtual exploration of land, sea and space.

The university is a hive of activity. Between classes students can enjoy a wide range of activities including sports and fitness, social clubs and societies, volunteer work and exciting campus events. Students studying at Curtin’s multicultural campuses can expect to build life skills, join an international community and become part of a forward thinking culture committed to sharing innovative ideas. In line with developments in Perth, Curtin is also beginning to transform its main campus into a vibrant cultural hub where residents, students and business can live, work, study and socialise together as part of the Greater Curtin project.

To find out more, visit the Curtin University website 



Curtin University Council

Section 8 of the Curtin University of Technology Act 1966 (WA) states that the Council is “the governing authority of the University”, while section 16 elaborates on the role of the Council as follows:

‘Subject to this Act, the Council has the management and control of the property and affairs of the University and may do all such acts and things as it may think best calculated to promote the interests of the University.’

In broad terms, the Council:

  • has responsibility for the autonomy of the University in governance and decision-making, independent of the government of the day at State and Federal levels;

  • is responsible for the effective operation of the University;

  • establishes the University’s strategic direction, drawing upon advice from the senior management;

  • upholds the University’s Values as the basis for its own conduct as a body, and for the conduct of its individual members; and expects all staff and students of the University to do likewise;

  • has responsibility for fostering the general welfare and development of the University’s enrolled students; and

  • has a responsibility to oversee the governance of the University’s health and safety systems and processes.

For further information, refer to Curtin University’s Corporate Governance Statement .

Membership of Curtin University’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Professor Deborah Terry AO – Chief Executive Officer
Vacant – Member of a body representing the University in a place other than the University’s principle campus

Appointed Members – Governor

Mr Kim Bridge (to 14 November 2017)
Ms Cathryn Carver (to 10 November 2017)
Dr Andy Crane (31 March 2018)
Mr Alex Jones (to 31 March 2018)
Mr Michael Lishman (to 31 March 2019)
Dr Michael Stanford CitWA (to 1 December 2017)

Appointed Members – Minister

Ms Sue Wilson – Pro Chancellor (to 2 May 2019)

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Colin Beckett – Chancellor (to 31 December 2018)
Mr Steve Scudamore (to 31 March 2017)
Mr Gene Tilbrook (to 31 March 2018)

Elected Members

Associate Professor Linley Lord – Academic Board (to 31 March 2018)
Professor Glennda Scully – Academic Staff (to 31 March 2019)
Professor Dale Pinto – Academic Staff (31 March 2017)
Mr Andrew McLean – Professional Staff (to 17 June 2019)
Mr Liam O’Niell – Undergraduate Student (to 12 April 2017)
Ms Noni Elliott Hobbs – Undergraduate Student (to 12 April 2017)
Vacant – Graduate


Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Audit and Compliance Committee

Chair – Mr Steve Scudamore

Finance Committee

Chair – Mr Gene Tilbrook

Executive Committee

Chair – Mr Colin Beckett, Chancellor

Health and Safety Due Diligence Committee

Chair – Mr Colin Beckett, Chancellor

Legislative Committee

Chair – Mr Michael Lishman