Mr Graham Goldsmith

Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology

Mr Graham Goldsmith became the Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology in August 2014 having served on the Council since 2010.

Mr Goldsmith was a highly-respected figure in the Australian financial services industry. He is an experienced company director and community leader with a deep commitment to education.

Educated at Swinburne Institute of Technology in the 80s, Mr Goldsmith graduated with a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) in 1983. He also completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University in Boston.

Mr Goldsmith’s career began with National Australia Bank in Melbourne. He joined JBWere & Son in 1987, working in Melbourne and London.  JBWere merged with the Australian operations of Goldman Sachs & Co in 2003. Mr Goldsmith held a number of senior roles, including Chair of the Goldman Sachs Australia Foundation. Mr Goldsmith retired in 2012 as Vice-Chairman and Managing Director of Goldman Sachs Australia. He enjoyed a 25 year career with the firm.

In addition to being Chancellor at Swinburne, Mr Goldsmith is on a number of boards. He is currently a non-executive director of ASX listed companies Djerriwarrh Investments Limited and SEEK Limited.

Mr Goldsmith is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (FAICD). He is also a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia (FFin), and Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants (FCPA).


University Profile

Swinburne is a world-class university creating social and economic impact through science technology and innovation. As a university, we are dedicated to producing outstanding research that is relevant, has impact and is internationally recognised.

In 1908 our institution was founded on the premise that our work would be shaped by industry and community needs. It is this practical and responsive perspective that continues to characterise our approach to research and education.

We have three Melbourne-based campuses; Hawthorn, Wantirna and Croydon. Internationally, we have a campus in Sarawak, Malaysia, which connects us to one of the most rapidly growing regions of the world.

At Swinburne, we are committed to helping our students unlock the skills and capabilities required to transform their own lives and the lives of others in their communities.

For more than 50 years, we have been partnering with leading Australian and global organisations to offer students authentic workplace experiences. By working on real industry projects and gaining the professional skills that put knowledge into practice, our students are able to prepare for a fulfilling career.

Swinburne has become one of the world’s leading universities, ranked within the top two per cent of universities globally, as assessed by the Academic Ranking of World Universities. Our rankings reinforce Swinburne as a university with a depth of expertise in teaching and research, both in Australia and internationally.

Our research strengths are in astronomy and physics, engineering, materials science, computer science and information technology; design and innovation. We also have substantial capability and research excellence in neuroscience, mental health and the humanities and social sciences.

Both as an early leader in international education and through our expertise in online education, Swinburne is an institution making educational opportunities available to a new generation of learners through Swinburne Online and Open Universities Australia.

Students come first at Swinburne and we respect the strength that difference creates. Our students graduate with an entrepreneurial and enterprising mind-set, confident and ready to stride into the future.

To find out more, visit the Swinburne University of Technology’s website www.swinburne.edu.au 

Swinburne Logo.jpg


Swinburne University of Technology Council

Council oversees the general direction and superintendence of the University and its powers and functions include:

  • Approving the mission and the strategic direction of the University

  • Overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance

  • Managing the University’s resources

  • Establishing policy and procedural principles, consistent with legal requirements and community expectations

  • Approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability

For more information, please refer to the Council’s charter .

Membership of Swinburne University of Technology’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr Graham Goldsmith – Chancellor
Professor Linda Kristjanson AO – Vice-Chancellor
Professor Bernadine Van Gramberg – Chair of Academic Senate

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Ms Geraldine Farrell (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Kirsten Mander (to 31 December 2019)
Ms Vi Peterson (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Ms Renée Roberts (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Anthony Mackay AM (to 31 December 2020)
Mr Alan Schwartz AM (to 31 December 2019)
Mr Andrew Dix (to 31 December 2021)
Mr David Singleton AM (to 31 December 2020)

Elected Members

Ms Catherine Rojas – Staff (to 31 December 2019)
Mr Junaid Azhar – Student (to 31 December 2019)


Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Academic Senate

Chair – Professor Bernadine Van Gramberg

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Mr Andrew Dix

Executive and Remuneration Committee

Chair – Mr Graham Goldsmith, Chancellor

Resources Committee

Chair – Ms Geraldine Farrell